Award for Innovation in Instructional Technologies

A component of NWACC’s Instructional Technology program, the Award for Innovation in Instructional Technologies recognizes instructional technologists (or technology teams) at NWACC member institutions who have displayed innovation in the design, development, and/or support of instructional technologies.

The award program is designed to share proven strategies and inspire new ideas in the integration of information technology with teaching and learning. To facilitate this, recipients present their work and host a plenary session at the annual NWACC Instructional Technology Roundtable. Winners receive a $500 cash award.

Hugi Award Program

The purpose of the Hugi Award Program is to recognize individuals or groups in NWACC whose outstanding work in technology leadership, innovation, deployment, or support has provided substantial benefit for their institution and potentially other NWACC institutions.

Hugi award recipients receive a commemorative plaque and an honorarium, payable to them, their institution, or a charity of their choice. Awards may be presented to recipients at their home institution or at an NWACC Council meeting.

Exemplary Practice Award

The Exemplary Practice Award may be given to a staff member, group of staff members, or department whose exceptional work in the development, deployment, or support of technology is noteworthy. Such work may encompass innovative IT strategies in any area of instruction, research, or administrative operations. NWACC Council members may nominate recipients for Exemplary Practice Awards in response to periodic calls for nominations from the President of NWACC. Nomination letters should be sent to the President at and include the following:

  • Exemplary Practice “name”
  • Participant(s)
  • The Challenge – What problem did this practice address? (1-2 paragraphs)
  • The Solution – Describe the practice (2-3 paragraphs)
  • Outcomes – What are the impacts? How are the results tracked?
  • Relevance for Other Institutions – Can this solution be applied at peer organizations?


Leadership Award

The Leadership Award may be given to an IT professional of an NWACC institution who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in support of the mission and programs of NWACC or in guiding their IT organization or sub-unit. Leadership Award nominations may be submitted at any time to the NWACC President.


Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award may be given to an individual – from outside as well as inside the NWACC community – whose technology-related contributions have been of significant benefit to NWACC and its member institutions. Lifetime Achievement Award nominations may be submitted at any time to the NWACC President.


About Joanne R. Hugi

The Hugi Award Program was established to honor former NWACC board chair Joanne Hugi. Hugi, who retired in 2004 from her position as chief technology officer at the University of Oregon, was a central force in establishing NWACC programs and promoting IT efforts in the region that were of the highest caliber. Never one to shrink from a challenge, Hugi demonstrated a ‘shoot-from-the-hip’ persistence that was dedicated to the creative application of technology for the common good of higher education in the Pacific NorthWest.

Hugi began her career at the University of Oregon in 1971 with a joint appointment in the Computer Science Department and the UO Computing Center. Under her leadership, the University of Oregon earned substantial recognition for its achievements in technology, including the CAUSE Award for Excellence in Campus Networking (1996), the NII Networking Award (1996), and designation in the “top ten list” of America’s 100 Most Wired Colleges by Yahoo!/Internet Life (1997 & 1998).

Hugi received a bachelor’s degree (1965) in business administration from the University of Connecticut and a master’s degree (1971) in computer science, business, and education from the University of Oregon. She served on the Oregon Telecommunications Forum Council and the Southern Willamette Valley Research Corridor Telecommunications Subcommittee.

Hugi joined the NWACC Board in 1994, was elected to the Executive Committee in 1995, chaired the Grant Committee in 1998-99, was elected vice chair of the Board 1996 – 1999, and served as chair of the Board from 1999 to 2004. She provided exemplary leadership for NWACC through its transitional years, following the sale of NorthWestNet.