Award for Innovation in Instructional Technologies

A component of NWACC's Instructional Technology program, the Award for Innovation in Instructional Technologies recognizes instructional technologists (or technology teams) at NWACC member institutions who have displayed innovation in the design, development, and/or support of instructional technologies.

The award program is designed to share proven strategies and inspire new ideas in the integration of information technology with teaching and learning. To facilitate this, recipients present their work and host a plenary session at the annual NWACC Instructional Technology Roundtable. Winners receive a $500 cash award.

Innovation in Instructional Technology Award Winners:

2018: Untethered Lecture Capture - Samuel Williams, Director of Academic Technology Services and Innovation (ATSI); Lorretta Krautscheid, Interim Associate Dean School of Nursing; Ben Kahn, Instructional Design & Technology Specialist

2016: Lightboard Videos for a Flipped Classroom - Katrina Hay, Associate Professor of Physics, and Jenna Stoeber, Instructional Technologies Team Manager, Pacific Lutheran University

2015: Threadz: Discussion Visualization - Jeff Healy, Instructional Technology Manager, and Matt Lewis, Project Lead, Eastern Washington University

2014: Techonolgy Enabled Active Learning Classrooms - Dr. Marilyn Lockhart, Dr. David Single, Facilities Management Department team members, Information Technology Department team members, Ritchie Boyd, and Lindsey Jackson, Montana State University

2013: An Experiential Faculty Development Program on Blended Learning - Justina Brown, Marc Ravaris, John Farquhar, Andrew Blick, Maggie Barklind, and Peter Agras, Western Washington University

2012: The eBestiary - Anne de Marcken, Ruth Hayes, Amy Greene, and Stephanie Zorn, The Evergreen State College

2011: Pacific Lutheran University Hebrew Idol - Tony Finitsis and Nick Butler, with assistance from students and staff of Religion Department and I&TS

2010: Smart Technology in Music Education - Dr. Eric Wiltshire, University of Oregon

Hugi Award Program

The goal of the Hugi Award Program is to recognize individuals or groups whose outstanding work in technology has benefited NWACC member institutions.

Program Guidelines
Leadership Award Winners
Lifetime Achievement Award Winners
Exemplary Practice Award Winners
About Joanne R. Hugi